View Full Version : A Model For OKC

Kerry
06-18-2007, 08:54 PM
I know many of you look at KC and Dallas as examples of what OKC could become but I have been working in Atlanta for the last 5 months and this is the city that OKC should look at for development ideas. I'm not comparing OKC to Atlanta, I'm just saying the Atlanta is the model OKC should be following.

Here are two projects that are under construction in downtown Atlanta that would be an excellent model for Core to Shore. Watch the 12th and Midtown video and see if this isn't exactly what OKC is wanting to do.

12th & Midtown (http://www.12thandmidtown.com/)
Atlantic Station® - Life Happens here. (http://www.atlanticstation.com/home.php)

okclee
06-18-2007, 09:17 PM
Kerry..........That is EXACTLY !!!, the people of Okc should be looking for in the downtown area.

Someone needs to email that link and video to the City of Okc and the Mayor's office.

The Old Downtown Guy
06-19-2007, 06:44 AM
Excellent info Kerry. The residential density coupled with the cultural and recreational aminities portrayed in the video is a perfect model for the future of downtown okc and if we can sustain our urban redevelopment for another twenty five years, we can get to that point. I guess the down side is that, as was pointed out in the video, upscale retail is just now coming on the scene in Midtown Atlanta, so downtown OKC residents have a way to go before we can drop in to many specialty retailers downtown. But, I'll settle for a few more restaurants and a couple of bigger parks for now and that's in the five year forcast, so at least I should still be able to get around. Mostly, it's fun and exciting to watch the city slowly come back to life.

soonerliberal
06-19-2007, 07:38 AM
Wow. Atlantic Station is pretty amazing. That is what I am looking for.

y_h
06-19-2007, 07:43 AM